RCB Beat RR: Padikkal & Kohli Lead Bangalore To Their 4th Consecutive Victory in IPL 2021

Image Courtesy: NDTV

What a match at Wankhede! Royal Challengers Bangalore register their 4 consecutive wins as they thrashed Rajasthan Royals. Chasing a target of 178 runs, Virat Kohli and Devdutt Padikkal did the impossible and bagged a 10-wicket win while leading the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 points table.

Padikkal’s fiery opening attack shattered all the beginning tactics of the Rajasthan Royals bowlers. Along with the Skipper, Padikkal recorded his first century in this year’s IPL. Padikkal was undefeated at 101(52). Virat Kohli was nowhere behind as he scored a valuable 72 runs off just 47 balls. A true captain’s innings. However, things started to tilt towards Kohli’s way from the very beginning when he won the toss.


The skipper unhesitatingly chose to bowl first stating that his team is highly capable of chasing targets as well as the chase-conducive Wankhede conditions. Mohammad Siraj and Kyle Jamieson did the trick for their captain by taking out both the RR openers, Jos Buttler & Manan Vohra. Both Siraj and Harshal Patel took 3 wickets each and restricted the Royals at 177/9. Mohammed Siraj (3/27) cleaned up Jos Buttler (8) while Manan Vohra (7) fell prey to Kyle Jamieson. Siraj then unleashed a perfect toe-crusher for David Miller (0) as skipper Virat Kohli made a perfect call for DRS. The top order of Rajasthan Royals was crumbling down.

Then, the combined effort of Dube (46), Parag (25) and Tewatia (40) helped the Rajasthani side to put up a commendable total on the scoreboard. Dube smashed two sixes and five fours while Riyan Parag (25 off 15 balls) providing him good support. They added 66 runs for the fifth wicket off only 6.2 overs to give his team’s total some respectability.

Nonetheless, all the effort came short against the massive opening partnership of Kohli and Padikkal who chased down the total like it was nothing at all. RCB won the match with 21 balls left and this is the first time that they have won all their 4 opening matches!


Meanwhile, Virat Kohli became the first cricketer to score 6000 runs in IPL. Kohli (6021) is leading the IPL highest run-getter chart followed by Suresh Raina (5,448), Shikhar Dhawan (5,428) David Warner (5,384) and Rohit Sharma (5,368). Despite being a bit expensive, Harshal Patel bagged 3 wickets (3/47) and is currently the highest wicket-taker in this tournament. Devdutt Padikkal was named Man Of The Match for his extraordinary innings of 101.

Royal Challengers Bangalore will be facing off against Chennai Super Kings on April 25th for the second time. Can Virat continue his unbeaten run?